5 Things I Learnt After I Quit My Job to Write Full-Time

There are downsides to living your dream…but at least you’re living your dream!

Frankly My Dear
5 min readSep 29, 2019
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Have you ever fantasised about what you would do if you won the lotto? I used to say that I’d quit my job and write for a living. Sure, I imagined buying a nice house and going on a big overseas trip but the main part of that daydream was always being free to write.

In 2018, a very persistent thought kept circling…should I quit my job? When the noise of that question became so overwhelming I coudn’t take it anymore, I handed in my resignation letter to live my lotto life. Granted, I’m penny-pinching a fair bit more than I’d have to if I actually took home $50 million but the premise is the same. There is nothing else in the world I’d rather be doing for a living right now and I’m willing to do whatever it takes to make it work.

Here’s what I’ve learnt from ‘living the dream’ the past year

1. It’s terrifying.

While you may have felt like an ace at your previous job, you’re most likely going to feel like a complete newbie in the writing…

--

--

Frankly My Dear

Journalist & Features writer | Heartfelt storytelling about love, motherhood and life from a woman who’s been there.